Friend.

What is a friend?

Everyone single one of us have a different answer to that. As for me, I had never really thought about it till this evening’s Sunset Mass when Father F was homily-ing on the topic of friendship when my answer came to me.

Faithful and

Responsible being

In

Every minute and every

New

Day on earth

Why did I think of this? Allow me to explain. A friend is one who is faithful and loyal to you and has trust in you. A friend is also one who dares to pick out your faults but will take the time to fix them with you. A friend is always responsible in whatever he/she says to you but not say things just to make you feel good all the time, but yes, a friend is there to encourage you. Therefore, a friend does not deceives one another and neither he/she keeps things from and push his/her other friends away. A friend is always there when you need a listening ear and/or a guiding hand.

Father F said this and I found it to be very true. “Once a beautiful plate is broken (into two parts), no matter what type of strong glue you use to fix it, it will never be the same.”

I have been feeling quite down for the past week because of a friendship problem. Whenever I see this person, my heart would ache and this sudden sadness would come over me, and I would even avoid looking at this person in the face. Noticed that I am calling this person as ‘this person’? Hah. I dare not use the term ‘friend’ on him/her. I have no idea where my status is on this ‘friendship’. If this person so wishes, I will just be an acquaintance to him/her. I have no idea what went wrong over the past weeks but I really hope he/she will tell me.

Hence, to this dear person, thank you for the times we had together over the last four years, studying together, working on projects, late nights, bickering, laughing, joking, running off to the cinema from time to time, “sharing” sessions at TCC, cam-whoring and just plain old shopping together. Thank you. I also want you to know that I will always love you no matter how far you wish to push me away.

3 thoughts on “Friend.

  1. A friend is who share their thoughts, happiness, sad, worries and secret with each other. She/He will always be there when you need her/him. As long as you wish to share your happiness/sorrow. They will always support and give you a listening ear and assistance.

Leave a Reply

