Mid Autumn Festival 8月15日, 15th Sept. 2016


The Mid Autumn Festival, also known as the Lantern Festival or Mooncake Festival, traditionally falls on the 15th day of the 8th month in the Chinese lunar calendar. This year, it falls on 15th September. The moon on this night is supposed to be the brightest amongst all the other moons from the rest of the year. 

There are many stories about how this festival came about. One of them is about an ancient myth of a lady named Chang’e who ran away from her husband. Another story is about a war that took place long ago and how the people used cakes to smuggle messages to each other.

As for me, I didn’t celebrate it. Only had a cup of tea as I thought of eating a few slices of Mooncake, but got so carried away by my marking that I completely forgot about it. Ended up finishing my cup of tea, though. 

I finally got to see the moon late at night. Had to look up to see it shining down. 

When I was much younger, my neighbours would dress up their garden by hanging traditional paper lanterns around. They used candles in those lanterns and if they weren’t careful and the wind blew, the lantern could catch fire. It was always interesting to peek over the wall separating our houses to see the lanterns, and as a child, it was a highlight. In some years, my older brother would get me a paper lantern and helped me light up a candle so that I could walk around the garden with it. 🏮

Now, as an adult, drinking tea and eating mooncakes is a treat. If I have children or any younger ones in the house, I would probably do the same as my old neighbours and dress up the front garden with paper lanterns all around. 

Such memories… 😊

Leave a Reply

